Raw Food Diet – 30 Day Challenge

I woke up yesterday morning and decided it was time to try and go 100% raw again. I am tired, I feel like crap, I’ve gained weight ~ and as far as I know this is the best solution. Last time I ate raw I felt WONDERFUL – so good I said there would be no reason to ever stop. So that’s it, I’m back to raw.

 Anyone up for joining me on a 30 day raw food challenge?

One of things I enjoyed last time about eating raw was learning how to prepare different foods. It’s a treat to learn how to combine nuts and fruits in a way that creates something completely different than the normal SAD diet. Or to blend up some homemade salad dressing that is simple and nutritous.

I posted the following paragraph after I finished a 30 day raw challenge in 2010.

On Sunday, I completed my 30 day raw challenge, and I am so very glad I did it. The last two weeks have absolutely flown by. I had no real issues with cravings, sickness, tiredness, etc. In fact, I feel like I started to benefit from the diet change. The benefits I saw over the last month included: 13 total pounds in weight loss, flatter abdomen, less bloating and less of that yucky heavy full feeling, better facial complexion (in fact I think the dark circles under my eyes are disappearing), more energy, and no cravings! My blood sugar feels completely level at all times, I don’t feel like I go through highs and lows through the day, and I generally feel younger all over. You can read the rest HERE.
 
My goals this time are:
  • Increased energy
  • Feeling better
  • Weightloss

If you aren’t familiar with the raw diet, think fruits, vegetables, nuts and seeds – none of which are cooked. But if you aren’t familiar with the diet you probably aren’t familiar with all the amazing meals you can create with these foods. So check it out, there is a ton of information online. It makes it easier if you have a blender, a food processor, and a dehydrator – but these are not required.Warning: don’t get caught up in thinking you need fancy equipment, foods, or supplements. Keep it simple and you are more likely to be successful.

Some of my favorite foods include: flax seed crackers, nut bread/crackers, almond milk, smoothies, desserts, nut balls, nut pates, and of course cocoa.

If you don’t feel like you are ready to commit 100% for 30 days, consider 1 meal a day or some alternative. However, when  you commit to 100% you will learn a lot more about raw foods and how you like them best. I’ve also found that if a completely drop the cooked food from my diet my pallete changes and I enjoy the flavors of the raw food more. In addition, to have any resulting weight loss I need to be close to 100%.

So, is anyone with me? It’s just 30 days – and the benefits will be well worth it.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Raw Food Diet – 30 Day Challenge

  1. Sherri,

    Thanks for sharing. I am interested in how much nuts/seeds you need to eat to keep your weight stable? Nuts and seeds are usually too expensive for me to consume everyday. Any suggestions?

    thanks and have a nice day,

    Ann

    1. Ann – thanks for the comment. I’ve never been able to stay raw long enough to lose more weight than needed. I do know a 1/2 cup a day of nuts slows down any weight loss for me. My sister says just a handful keeps her from losing weight. So it probably differs for everyone.

      Try finding nuts in bulk to help with the cost. Also we like anuts.com.

Leave a Reply

