Winnie the Pooh sparks learning

I found these great Winnie the Pooh cardboard alphabet tiles at Goodwill a couple weeks ago for 50 cents. Jasper has loved playing with them. He pulls them out just for fun, lines them up, and works on spelling words.

The first day we had them out I gave him about 7 tiles and then asked him to spell some “-at” words. He did fantastic. I had no idea how easy it would be for him. So I mixed it up with other words – words that we haven’t even had a reading lesson on yet – and he sounded them out and spelled them perfectly (all 3 letter, short vowel words)! I was thrilled, and to top it off he loved every minute of it.  (which is a very telling sign considering most of the time when I sit him down to read he acts like he can’t do any of it, or like its the hardest thing on this earth – I guess I figured him out, if he can spell them and then read it to me, surely he can read it when someone else has written it)

This week I pulled them out and asked him to line them up alphabetically. I figured there would be a couple missing – turns out only the letter V is missing.

It was a great find. I’m always looking out for learning toys. I did a quick search online and didn’t see them for sale…if anyone knows where to find them or what they are called I would love to add a link to this post for them. Unfortunately it looks like they are out of publication.

2 thoughts on “Winnie the Pooh sparks learning

  1. Good Morning! I’ve found you again!! I will be sharing your blog with my daughter (and new Mom as of 5-7-2012), Cara Hill.

Leave a Reply

