Best Baby and Preschooler Books

After fostering 10 children — 9 of which have been 5 years old and younger, and all coming from a variety of homes and different environments — I have read of ton of children’s book. I have scoured every list on the internet; I have looked high and low for the best. And here are my favorites. The ones I think work best with most children; the one that share a message I want my children to learn; the ones that I know they will ask for over and over. These are the books that I think should be on every child’s shelf ages 4 and younger.

Good Night Moon, by Margaret Wise Brown
Polar Bear, Polar Bear, by Bill Martin
Green Eggs and Ham, By Dr. Seuss
Curious George, by H. A. Rey
The World Treasury of Children’s Literature, Book I, Selected and with commentary by Clifton Fadiman (which has a ton of great stories, including Curious George and Good Night Moon – but I would recommend you have an individual book for both of these classics)
Hush! A Thai Lulluby, by Minfong Ho
Tales of Peter Rabbit and His Friends, With Thirteen Beatrix Potter Stories (Chatham River Press); Peter Rabbit and Benjamin Bunny are my favorites
Where the Wild Things Are, by Maurice Sendak
Miss Suzy, by Miriam Young (my favorite as a child, a now adored by my children)
I Saw the Sea Come In, by Alvin Tresselt
Hop-Skip-Jump-a-roo Zoo, by Jane Belk Moncure, the most interactive book for children that I have seen
Richard Scarry’s Books – Best Picture Dictionary Ever, Best Word Book Ever, Early Words
How Do Dinosaurs Eat Their Food, by Jane Yolen and Mark Teague
Goodnight Gorilla, by Peggy Rathmann
Touch the Art: Feed Matisse’s Fish, by Julie Appel
Mother Goose, by Gyo Fujikawa
My Little Animal Book, priddy book
Momma, Will You?, by Dori Chaconas
I Took the Moon for a Walk, by Carolyn Curtis
A Visitor for Bear, by Bonnie Becker

Favorite Christian Books for this age:
Big Thoughts for Little People, by Kenneth N. Taylor
The Toddler’s Bible, by V. Gilbert Beers
Designed by God so I must be Special, by Character Builders for Kids
The Jesus Storybook Bible, by Sally Lloyd-Jones
Leading Little Ones to God, by Miriam M. Schoolland

And while its not my favorite, if you have a baby that either 1) is not interested in sitting still and reading a book; or 2) only wants to eat the book …I would recommend a cloth book with some interactive parts – something like Fluffy Chick and friends, by priddy books, seems to work best.

2 thoughts on “Best Baby and Preschooler Books

  1. Great list! I’ve started homeschooling my two year old with Sonlight’s curriculum, and many of those books are on their list as well. Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

