Petra’s Painted Nails

Petra is very girly. She loves to have her nails painted. The last time she tried to do this by herself, she found some bright red nail polish that she spilt all over her hands….Imagine the horror when a friend’s daugther found her with red liquid all over her hands, screaming … well thats a different story.

 She also loves dresses. In fact, she loves long dresses. If the dress is short, she is not interested. I like to think its beause she is modest. But really its because she believes long dresses are fancier, and the fancier the better. Same thing goes for skirts. She doesn’t want to wear a skirt unless its long. And if you haven’t noticed, most toddler skirts do not come in ankle length.  Anyway, she carries on complete conversations these days about dresses, nails, shoes, etc. She was telling me a few nights ago, in a very elaborate manner, that when she is older she will be able to wear heels. And when this happens she is going to get a pair of glass slippers, a blue pair like Cinderella. And also a blue gown, one that is long and sparkley, so that she will be dressed up and so pretty. Her conversations with us are now turning into paragraphs of thoughts and ideas. It is so neat to hear her talk in multiple sentences. (And on a side note, for Christmas we looked for the movie Cinderella and weren’t able to find it, but she loves the story)

With that in mind, I thought you might enjoy these photos. Last week (while I was at work), Petra found a black sharpie marker and decided to paint not only her nails, but also the nails of her new princess doll. When I finally got home and discovered this, I had a very hard time not laughing. I hope that it wasn’t encouraging. I also had to get photos. I hope that wasn’t encouraging. And then I told her how she shouldn’t write on herself and her doll. So maybe I sent mixed messages – but I think she got the point. I guess we will have to see if it happens again.

One thought on “Petra’s Painted Nails

  1. That sounds just like Audrie. Although now she’s over the shortness bit so maybe she’ll grow into skirts even if they are not ankle length. 🙂

    Oh and I had Audrie write all over herself with a sharpie one time when I was temping at a law firm while she was with me at the firm. She also got the marker all over their wall and stairs. Uuggghhh!

Leave a Reply

