Fitness Friday – Staying Positive

There are so many things in life I love right now. One of those things continues to be Crossfit. I have a love/hate relationship with it to be honest. As one of my fellow Crossfitters said yesterday, Crossfit is the hardest thing (or most horrible thing) I love doing every day. It does have a tendency to test you each and every time.

I walked in yesterday complaining. Our warm-up every day usually starts with a quarter mile jog. “I don’t like running,” I said. My dear husband suggested I row instead. In seconds the words, “I don’t like rowing either” popped out of my mouth. And just as I correct my children at home and remind them to speak positively and to find the blessings in life, there was my trainer giving me the same reprimand. It’s funny how I try to be so careful in other areas in my life and at home, and so quickly slipped into this rotten behavior at the gym—A place that I am blessed to be able to even go to.

The new rule at the gym is that you are required to follow any negative comment with a positive comment. I love this rule! So I thought about it…and thought about it. What do I love about Crossfit, I thought? And honestly I was having a hard time because I did not feel like working out. Finally, I said “But I am glad that I have the opportunity to see my husband during lunch here at the gym.” Indeed, this is my most favorite part about Crossfit these days.

Here’s the article on staying positive at CrossFit by CrossFit Fire. The bottom line: “CrossFit is about making you do the things you would otherwise choose not to do. It’s about pushing yourself to get uncomfortable, and keep going. CrossFit is about constantly varied, and highly functional movements, and that makes it hard. Hard is good, because it also makes it effective.”

Yesterday’s workout was as grueling as ever:

5 rounds of:

  • 1 min rowing (count the calories)
  • 1 min 55 lb push press overhead (count the # of reps) (men had 75lbs)
  • 1 min 20” box jumps (count the # of reps) (men had 24” jump)
  • 1 min rest

Both Thomas and I scored 219 points. I was happy with this score. Thomas beat me in the rowing by a lot, and by three in the push presses. And I beat him by a lot in the box jumps. Just to give you an idea of how this broke out -because doing just 1 minute at a time might be deceiving without actually experiencing it – during this workout I did 90 push presses with a 55 lb bar over my head. That means I pushed a total of 4,950 lbs over my head. And that was just 1/3 of the workout.

Our gym is hosting a Thanksgiving paleo picnic next Saturday! Everyone has to bring a paleo dish.  I’m so excited about this opportunity to go and try some new foods. I have really been struggling with finding paleo dishes we all like. And I have seriously thought about ordering a cookbook this month but haven’t decided on which one. In the meantime, my trainers recommend this website – elana’s pantry – and I love it. Check it out.

Oh, and I do have some new goals:

  • Be able to do 1 pullup without bands
  • Be able to do 10 men’s pushups – chest to ground without stopping
  • No eating after 7pm
  • Exercise 4 times a week
  • And I need to make healthier choices with my food, especially when I eat out

And don’t forget to head on over to Fit Mommy Friday and check-in on the rest of the mommies in the challenge.

Leave a Reply

