Our 6th Wedding Anniversary

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On Saturday we celebrated our 6th wedding anniversary! We have had an incredible marriage and I’m so thankful for the man God gave me. He is an wonderful husband and father. And we have been very blessed over the last 6 years.

This week has been awesome. We welcomed a 15-year-old young lady in our home through foster care. I’m not going to sugar coat this …. the first day or two that I knew she was coming were definitely full of concern. I had a queasy stomach…but it turns out it was mostly from the alfredo pasta I ate after the mud run last weekend. Once that passed I was fine. A little worried about the stress a teenager would bring along, but ready for it. Petra did a great job of breaking the ice for us all…running outside to greet her with a great big HELLO!- with Jasper only a few steps behind. And the few moments of trepidation and concern I had, were very quickly replaced with joy and blessings. She has been an absolute delight and I’m already so thankful for her.

In case you are wondering, we were licensed as foster parents only for 0-5 year olds, and placement had us down for 0-3 year olds. So the phone call for a teenager came at a surprise. This was actually the second time I was asked to take her. About three weeks ago her guardian ad litem, whom I know, asked if I was interested in a passing conversation. And then about 2 weeks later another friend working with foster care asked if I would take her. And so we did.

With the new family addition, we didn’t want to leave everyone at home while we went on a date. So instead, we headed to the Panama City Beach for the day with the family. It was a great afternoon on the beach. The weather was perfect. Not at all windy. And perfectly warm. There were not any waves. And the water was shallow for about 50 feet out so it was perfect for the toddlers. We all spent a lot of time looking for shells, crabs and other interesting sea life. We found lots of hermit crabs walking along the bottom. And found some perfect shells. We saw fish swimming around. Watched the parasailing, jet skis, boats, ATVs, paddle boats, surfers, helicopters, planes,  and it was bike week … Jasper loved watching all the motorcycles.

I hope you enjoy the photos. There were not any of me…no one else picked up the camera…I forgot to ask. So I will try to get a photo of us as a couple this week.

3 thoughts on “Our 6th Wedding Anniversary

  1. Sounds like fun – even if it was family style, CONGRATULATIONS and HAPPY ANNIVERSARY!!! I am never in the pictures either. I have tons of the kiddos and them with Stephen, but if I ever want in I have to fanagle a way to get me in the shot by holding it myself.

  2. Happy Anniversary you guys! What a fun way to spend your anniversary… at the beach!!! I can’t believe it’s been 6 years! Love you!!!

Leave a Reply

