Fitness Friday

This week I’ve been fairly dedicated to the exercise scene, but ate badly for 1.5 days. I even had McDonalds. OH the SHOCK! But their fries are absolutely the best.

My husband and I increased our workouts this week. We’ve been doing Crossfit for a little over 3 months and decided we could start doing it more – our current goal is 5 times a week. However, Monday was a holiday and the gym was closed. So, thinking that we could get in a 5K run in around the neighborhood we set off Monday morning for a quick jog while a sitter watched the children. What better way to spend a day off, right? Thomas ran circles around me. It was very difficult – the hills had me wanting to completely stop. It took me 33 minutes –  a horrible time. Unfortunately, about 2 hours later I could barely walk on my left foot … it seems I’ve injured my foot- what I would guess is my 4th and 5th metatarsals. I’m not sure what caused the problem. I’ve never injured myself like this running. And I can only figure that I need new shoes.

So, all week I’ve been hobbling around. I can barely walk unless I’m wearing heels. I still went to the gym this week.

What I LOVE about Crossfit is that you never do the same thing. Every day is different. Every day I have coach making sure I do things correctly. Every day it changes up and uses different muscle groups. Every day someone else has to figure out what you are going to do, you just have to give your best at it. Every day there are others their in pain with me. And Everyday its a challenge…and you always challenge yourself more!

I’ve been in 3 times this week since my injury. I just have been subsituting exercises as necessary. So today instead of jogging, I rowed. This is what the workout of the day looked like this morning (not too bad):

4 rounds at 5 minutes each of:
400 m run (but I rowed)
use the remaining time to establish a 1 rep max for a split jerk

This was easy compared to Wednesday, which was the “Filthy Fifty”: (I had to substitute several of these exercises due to my injury =(
50 Box jump, 24 inch box
50 Jumping pull-ups
50 Kettlebell swings, 1 pood
Walking Lunge, 50 steps
50 Knees to elbows
50 Push press, 45 pounds
50 Back extensions
50 Wall ball shots, 20 pound ball
50 Burpees
50 Double unders

On a completely different note, the 100 day burpee challenge has completely stoppped for me. And honestly, I was way behind before I was injured so I can’t completely blame my lameness on it.

On the rest of my goals, I’m doing fairly well.

  • Eating lots of raw, except for the McDonalds trip and few other items.
  • Drinking lots more water – its much easier to get it all in when I’m exercising. I can usually down 40 oz before 8am.
  • Bible Study – we had several great bible studies this week as a couple
  • Weight loss – I think I’m gaining weight… =(  … I need to figure this one out.
2 thoughts on “Fitness Friday

Leave a Reply

