Fit Friday Family Post

We have been forging ahead with our 100 day burpee challenge. Today is day 15; however, I didn’t do yesterday’s 14, which means I have 29 to do today. That’s what happens when you miss a day. The children have been watching us and low and behold they are also becoming BURPEE ENTHUSIASTS. It is so true that children follow your lead. We have to remember to set good examples for our children…to walk the walk in all areas of our lives.
Here’s a photo of Jasper doing his burpees – he was pushing back up on his toes.

And here’s a video of Petra. (evidentially she can’t count while she is exercising)

If you aren’t sure how to do a burpee, check out this website for pictures and instructions.
It’s been a busy week for me because of travel. But generally I did get in a few workouts, including one in my hotel room. And I was even able to find raw smoothies, juice, and meals while out of town.

Here are my goals and how I did this week:

Rest each night for at least 8 hours, hopefully undisturbed by the little tots. And even more importantly rest this week as needed to recover from my variety of ailments.

I’m deleting this goal. I don’t believe I need 8 hours of sleep a night. I read yesterday that most people who eat raw usually drop from needing 8 hours of sleep a night to 5-6 hours a night. I’m usually getting 6-7 hours a night and that works fine for me. I’m not tired; and if I nap then I can’t sleep the following night. I’m thinking this may spur me to ramp my raw diet up more – I’d love a few more hours in the day to get some sewing done.

Daily Quiet Time and Prayer: I cannot be physically healthy without spiritual health. My goal is to spend at least 15 minutes each day reading the Bible and praying.

I need to do better with this. I am definitely reading the Bible and praying, but it seems too sporadic.

Drink more water: This is an area I really struggle. I’m going to start by trying to drink 40 oz of water each day. I know I have water intake from smoothies and juices, so this goal will just be for straight-up water consumption.

I completely forgot about this goal again. My dear husband teased this morning that if carrot juice counted as water I wouldn’t have any problems.

Eat 90% raw each day: I love the way eating raw makes me feel. I love the effects on my weight, my complexion, and my energy levels. I just started a 30 day raw challenge for myself. After 30 days, I may want to reevaluate where I am, but for now my goal is 90% raw each day.

I’m still averaging around 70% a day. Need to dig in this week and focus.

Crossfit 3 times a week: I love my local Crossfit. I love that they have an exercise plan set out for me each day. I love how challenging it is. I love that I always feels so great afterwards and know that I really accomplished something. I love that I’m getting stronger and leaner.

Didn’t meet goal – only Monday did I make it to Crossfit – due to travel.

Exercise 1 time a week at home: Squeeze in either a travel workout or other workout from my house.

Yes, I did this one in the hotel room – Invisible Fran workout.

Other personal goals: Here are two other goals that I hope I can meet soon. Complete a Crossfit workout prescribed (which is where you complete the entire workout at the prescribed weight or activity level…so no scaling to make it easier), and complete 20 men’s pushup without stopping.

Still working on these goals.

5 thoughts on “Fit Friday Family Post

  1. Oh my! If eating raw increases energy, I’m going to try it. Are there any books you recommend?

    Annie Kate,
    a wannabe Fit Mommy recovering from years of undiagnosed celiac disease.

    1. Oh, I have lots of favorite raw links – they are all on my home page. I think Raw Food Made Easy might be the simplest.You can go to http://www.learnrawfood.com for this lady’s website. I also love http://www.choosingraw.com, and http://www.rawmazing.com. There are so many resources online that you could probably try it for a month without a book.

      This post has some good information on some of the scientific effects of following a raw food diet, including decrease need for sleep, ideal weight reached, no need for dieting, healthier hair, skin and nails, lower cholesterol, decrease in medication. Go to http://www.iowasource.com/food/lenkastudy_0806.html

      One of the most notable differences it made for us to eat more raw – and we cut out dairy and grains – was that our medication consumption dropped significantly. You can read about it at https://fosteringmyfamily.wordpress.com/2010/06/13/big-changes-part-2-our-diet/

Leave a Reply

