A calling to adopt

In the same way, any of you who does not give up everything he has cannot be my disciple. – Luke 14:33

Some of us take a few challenges in life. We think we struggle. But most of us haven’t been willing to give everything for God. If He asked us to, most of us wouldn’t be willing to give up everything.

I wanted to take a moment today and introduce you to a blog I found a few months ago and added to the links on this page. This young lady, just 21 years old, is in Uganda doing ministry work and while she was there she felt called to adopt. Today she has 14 young daughters that have been blessed with forever family.

Her words are nearly always inspiring and I can’t imagine living as she does. Here is an excerpt from her blog:

“I don’t even know where to start to tell about all that God has been doing in our lives since I last wrote. I know that my words aren’t even close to adequate to describe His goodness and love. A week ago today, I turned twenty one. I sat in awe as I celebrated with 14 beautiful girls who call me Mommy. (Ok one actually calls me “Maamaaaamammaaa”) I wondered why God chose me, little ole twenty one year old me, to be entrusted with so much. There is nothing greater than the responsibility of raising a child to love Jesus. Except maybe raising 14. Words are escaping me. Two years ago today, two we moved into this home. In the last years I have learned more about Jesus, about myself, and about life than I ever could have imagined. I am so thankful. So, so very thankful for the life you have given me Jesus, for entrusting me with so much when I deserve so little…”

She is truly living daily for Christ, helping impoverished families and starving children, raising children that would probably otherwise never have a family, and being blessed beyond measure. And she gave up more than I can imagine to serve in this way.

Read more about her life at Kisses for Katie.

Leave a Reply

