Raw Food 30 Day Challenge

Petra chomping on a lettuce taco with zuchinni hummus

I’m still finishing up the Decluttering 30 day Challenge – about a week left and still lots to do and I don’t have any time at the moment to work on this; but I will keep trying to toss out more.  But my body is telling me its time to move forward to a new challenge – Raw Food. Please stay with me here, I think you can do it. And I know you can at least make incremental changes in your diet that can make a very big difference. I provided some options below.

We’ve had a few weeks here of some really poor eating. Having a miscarriage contributed to some of it, I definitely did some emotional eating. I did beleive at the time that I “deserved” that cookie. But we also had VBS this week and ate everything provided. I’ve had pasta, more cookies than I care to mention, rice, cheese and all sorts of unhealthy foods in the last few weeks. And I feel the effects. I haven’t been sick for months. Until now. I have a very swollen and sore throat. I don’t know why it is, but for some reason unhealthy foods always cause me to have a swollen throat. And its not getting better; probably because I keep eating crap.  Not to count the bloating, constipation and abdomen pain I’m still having. I really can’t stand it anymore. I’m tired and I feel gross and I know this will help.

I did a 30 day raw challenge back in the spring which I enjoyed so much it turned into a 45 day raw challenge. I had so much more energy. I felt absolutely wonderful. I want to feel that way again. Not to mention the 20lbs I lost during 2 months!

The foods you eat can have an effect on your weight, but also on your attitudes, energy levels, and your thinking. Eating raw has so many benefits. First off eating raw greatly increases your health. Many individuals are able to go off medications after switching to a raw diet. Some people have been completely healed of diseases. Eating raw is reported to increase your energy levels. Eating raw is reported to improve your complexion. Eating raw is said to take  you to your natural weight – and I really want to find my natural weight.

While our friends were here this weekend I introduced them to some of my favorite raw foods – including a chocolate mousse pie, sunflower bread, and green smoothies. I love that when you eat raw you know you are eating healthy. But even more I love eating raw because the food combinations are endless. There are so many delicious recipes that I don’t feel like I’m on any sort of diet. Even their children liked some of it…enough that they asked for some green smoothies when they got home the very next morning. And so, off Kelly went to buy a blender. You can read her post here.

Oh, and I can’t forget mentioning some of the results we had in the spring. Including getting pregnant after 5.5 years of infertility. Please be sure to check out my post on our diet changes and how it changed our life. You can see in that post how it really improved our health in many ways.

So today starts a new raw food challenge. My goal is going to eat 90% raw food each day for the next 30 days.I like doing things cold turkey. But that’s just me. I left myself a little bit of wriggle room for two reasons. First I love popcorn. But secondly, I’m not sure how my body is going to fair without any animal protein especially considering how hard I’m exercising these days. So, we will just have to wait and see. I’m not planning on eating meat, but I’m going to wait to see how my body feels. And I really want to do this for longer than 30 days, but 30 days is a good time to reevaluate where I am.

I know some of you aren’t ready for the cold turkey route, so here are some ideas for your raw food challenge:

Option 1. Prepare 1 raw food dish for each meal and let your family try it. This can be so simple. For breakfast try a raw green smoothie or just fruit, for lunch maybe a salad, lettuce taco or pate, for dinner sliced tomatoes with basil and olive oil. All very simple and very doable.

Option 2. Switch out all your snacks and your children’s snacks to raw foods. Again super easy. Fruit and nuts make the easiest snacks, especially if you are heading out and about. But you could also fix smoothies, carrot juice, raw cookies, popsicles and so much more. So many of society’s popular snacks are high in calories, preservatives, corn syrup and sugar so this option makes a great first goal for you and the family.

Option 3. Try to eat at least 75% of raw food each day. This is a lot easier than you think. You can easily eat a raw breakfast, raw lunch, have raw snacks and then eat a sensible, cooked dinner. I’ve discovered that dinner is the hardest meal for me to eat raw. So this may make it easier for anyone starting out.

If you are thinking about trying it out, link up below with Mr. Linky. I’d love to hear from you and also hear how its going. Also, I’ll be glad to help in anyway or point you to someone who can. I’ve recently added some raw links to the website that look amazing! There are some absolutely great looking desserts at Sweetly Raw, and RawMazing had an assortment of recipes I can’t wait to try.

very simple, raw cookies

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view the entire list of entered links…

2 thoughts on “Raw Food 30 Day Challenge

  1. I forgot to comment the other day. I’m adding one raw meal in per day and switching some of the children’s snacks to raw. They’ve been eating smoothies every morning since we were there. Some have been better then others, but we’re still trying them. We’ve had quite a variety so that’s always fun. We even made some mango puree ice cubes (because frozen mango just became a block) and we have bananas, blueberries, cherries, and strawberries as well – all frozen and ready to be mixed in with spinach and almond milk. You’d be proud!

Leave a Reply

