Taking a Break

I need to take a break. No, not from blogging. I love to post, but sometimes I do get too busy. This weekend was a real struggle to post. On thursday night/friday morning we had friends arrive – a family of 5 – and I had a miscarriage. So the weekend was spent recovering from the miscarriage and hosting. We had a lot of fun, but it was hard to find time to post.

Today I feel like I need to take a break from the activities. I feel like myself and my children need some good ‘ol fashion sitting at home, resting, and praying. We need a break. And I know I need to increase my focus on: 1) having my quiet time each day, and 2) being more compassionate and loving towards those around me.

Psalm 86:15 says “But You, O Lord, are a God full of compassion, and gracious, longsuffering and abundant in mercy and truth.”

I want to be like that.

We are still busy. I have work. We have VBS tonight. But there will be some time in between. And during that time, I’m going to take a few moments to rest and pray with my children. And I’m going to ponder on how my life can be more compassionate and merciful to those around me. Maybe you can join me?

Leave a Reply

