Mornings and Raw Smoothies

 

Are you trying to get more spinach in your child’s diet? Then, keep reading…

I’m convinced at some point all working moms experience the morning that they just can’t get out of the house. I try to convince myself that even the super mommies have this problem on occasion. Yesterday was just one of those mornings. Every moment I moved the little ones were either tugging on me, putting toys in front of my feet, or clinging to my legs.

My mornings are very busy. They look a lot like this: quiet time, 6am at gym, 7am make breakfast, eat breakfast, make lunch, get everyone dressed, and somehow try to leave for work by 8am. So I was a little dismayed yesterday when I went to jump in the shower and both Petra and Jasper were insistent upon taking a shower as well. Luckily, Jasper had on overalls and was unable to pull them off or I would have needed to dress him…again. Instead, I offered them their toothbrushes and they seemed pleased as punch to be able to brush their teeth during this time. All was well…Until I got out of the shower a few minutes later and Petra says “Look mom we brushed our feet!” Yes, that is right; they both brushed their feet instead. Jasper even pulled his shoes off. They both stood their grinning from ear to ear, holding a foot up in the air for me to see.

What do you say? I tried to explain that toothbrushes were for our teeth, and not our feet. I think I missed the humor in it until about 5 minutes later. Something else to pray about.

But despite the crazy mornings we sometimes have, it is still important to me to be sure to spend time with each of them when they wake up and to pray together. And to me it’s important that they are eating a nutritious breakfast – preservative and package free.

So over the last week I took photos of the two smoothies I make for breakfast on a regular basis. WARNING: this is not our entire meal. (We try to eat a certain amount of proteins, carbs, and fats at each meal. So the smoothies usually make up a portion of our carbs for breakfast. The proteins usually are a lean meat or eggs. The fat usually comes from sunflower seeds, nuts, avocado, coconut oil, etc. And the rest of our carbs usually come from fresh fruits.)

It really doesn’t take any time to throw these together once you get used to it.

Green Smoothies 101

The main ingredients of green smoothie are: water, fruit, and a green leafy vegetable. The combination of fruit to greens you are looking for varies based on your tastes (and that of your children) but will probably be no more than 40% green to 60% fruit. I usually use probably 30% greens to 70% fruit. And then the remaining ingredients are optional.

Raw Blueberry Smoothie

  • 10 oz water
  • 1 cup of blueberries or more if desired
  • large handful of spinach
  • 1 t cinnamon or more if desired
  • 2″ chuck of peeled aloe
  • maca and/or spirulina
  • 1 T Honey if necessary for sweetner

Green Fruit Smoothie

  • 10 oz water
  • 1.5 cups mixed fruit (or pineapple/mango) (for this I usually buy a large bag of frozen fruit from SAMS
  • 1/2 to 1 banana
  • 1 cup spinach
  • 2″ chuck of peeled aloe
  • maca and/or spirulina

6 thoughts on “Mornings and Raw Smoothies

  1. Why the aloe? Just wondering. Oh and do you have any low-carb ones – the blueberry one would do (berries are lower carb so that one probably would be). BTW – we love eggs! We eat them almost every morning. We usually have NO carbs for breakfast (me and Stephen – the girls do and that depends on their mood).

    1. Aloe vera is said to have NUMEROUS health benefits. Here is a link that lists more than 20 benefits – http://www.naturalnews.com/021858.html

      All fruit has carbs so I’m not sure how you would make a smoothie without the carbs. If you had about 1/4 of the blueberry smoothie recipe below you are probably looking at 5 carbs each (as long as no honey is used). So not bad for your daily allowance goal of 20 carbs.

  2. I’ve been eating low carb on the Atkins way of living for the past 5 years or so. After I started the diet, I really enjoyed the extra energy I have while eating low carb and it has increased my blood chemistry as well! I’m very thankful to Dr. Atkins. I would really recommend it to anyone looking to adopt a new healthy way of living.

Leave a Reply

