Foster Care, a Calling for our Life

I’m amazed at the many ways God is expanding our lives and blessing us. It seems that in recent years our life as a husband and wife is unfolding to a point where we are able to see some things that God has called us to do as a family and individually. For us, foster care and adoption is a calling on our life.

Our infertility was a blessing in that it brought us to this point. I know many women ask “What if” questions. “What if I never get pregnant;” “What if I never have children.” These questions used to fill my mind. But now after becoming foster parents and after adopting, the question that more readily comes to mind is “What if I was able to get pregnant and had missed out on the wonderful children God had planned for us.” “What if we had missed out on the calling for our lives,” — for us infertility became a blessing.

It was just a few months ago when I had completely decided that God intended for us to adopt all our children and I was very excited about this. I was at a point where I didn’t want to consider any future fertility treatments. And then suddenly I was pregnant.  A reminder for me of Proverbs 16:9, “In his heart a man plans his course, but the Lord determines his steps.” It seems I constantly try to control and direct my life, and this is one of those areas that God is teaching us to trust Him.

We called our friends and family. And I even called our foster care license coordinator to share the news. I was surprised when she said, “So you will stop fostering then?” This is probably a logically conclusion – after all we will have 3 children when the baby is born – a 3-year-old, a 2-year-old, and a newborn. But even so, I was surprised; it had never occurred to me to stop fostering. My reply was quick and abrupt, “No, of course not.” Yes, I’m sure it will be crazy with just the three children I’m currently planning on caring for, but I could never give up on a calling in my life that I have been clearly directed to follow. I have no idea when we will have our next foster child come live with us, and I have no idea if we will adopt again. But I do know that it is in His hands and I just have to follow the path He has chosen for me.

  • Psalm 25:12 – “Who, then, is the man that fears the Lord, He will instruct him in the way chosen for him.”
  • James 1:27 – Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.”
One thought on “Foster Care, a Calling for our Life

  1. Beautiful post. What our struggle has been….foster/adopt is on my heart and I feel my calling but it hasn’t been for dh. We’ve done foster care and we’ve adopted. dh says no more. Sometimes I wish God would send an email letting us know exactly what He is asking of us. Sometimes I think He is telling us/me and He’ll change dh’s heart when the timing is perfect. Because only in His perfect timing and will, will things happen.

    Congratulations on your new little one. God’s Blessings

Leave a Reply

