Family Readings

(Petra is 31 months and Jasper is 21 months)

We love books and our home is full of them. We are always in need of more bookshelves and never have enough. The last two week we’ve been reading, but not as much as I would like. My goal everyday is to make sure the children have about 15 books read to them, but I’ve been missing this mark a lot and need to work on it. But we are continuing to read, and the children are bringing us books on a regular basis.

I’ve also been severely bored with their books lately. So I’m trying to add variety with a visit to the  library more often.

Every week we read numerous books, but here are a few that stood out as favorites this week.

Petra has been asking for two books every day: Olivia and the Missing Toy by Ian Falconer and My Friends by Taro Gomi.

I really enjoyed the original Olivia – but in Olivia and the Missing Toy, Olivia comes off a little too sassy and spoiled. Her behavior is far from ideal. But since we own this book, and Petra really enjoys it, I’ve decided we can read it and talk about how Olivia should behave.

I love My Friends by Taro Gomi and so do the children. The prose in this book are simple, and the illustrations are modern and simply adorable. The pictures have enough detail to really provide some interesting conversation.

Jasper is also asking for books on a regular basis. He loves cars, trucks and tractors and usually asks for books around these genres. But sometime he strays off this course. Here are the three books he is asking for this week.

Hush! A Thai Lullaby – I love the rhyming and rhythm in this book. It is one of my favorite books to read to the children, and makes for a good bedtime book. In this story a mother tells various animals to stay quiet so as not to wake her baby. The words are easy to pick up and remember– “Mosquito, mosquito don’t come weeping, can’t you see that baby’s sleeping. Mosquito, mosquito don’t you cry my baby’s sleeping right nearby. Hush!.”

Big Farm Machines is one of Jasper’s favorites at the moment – or to put it more accurately he’s slightly obsessive over this book. The books has very simple pictures of tractors and other farm vehicles doing real jobs on the farm. According to Amazon it currently isn’t available, but I didn’t check other places.

Bright Baby’s Trucks book is Jasper’s other favorite this week. He gets so excited to see each truck and I try to make it more interesting by talking about some of the details of each one. This series of books are popular with babies so I’m sure you have all seen this one on a shelf in a store, or you probably have it at home.

Both Petra and Jasper have also enjoyed the the My First Books to Reading by Jane Moncure. I’ve been picking these up from our local library to correspond with the letters we are working on in Tot School. I was really surprised at how captivated they both were with this series.

Other books we have picked up from the library include:

Night Train by Caroline Stutson – was a accidental find in the library. I brought it home thinking Jasper may really enjoy it and was surprised with how beautiful the illustrations are. The book is simple and relays a journey on a train. Both Petra and Jasper sit quietly for this book to be read. The book isn’t clear for a toddler; I’ve started to answer some of Petra’s questions about what is happening.

The Rainbabies by Laura Krauss Melmed – I have very mixed feelings about this book. Its definitely not for toddlers. I picked it up after seeing another home-school family was reading it to their 3 year old. It is recommended for children ages 6 and up and I may like it more if my children were older. This is fantasy story for children where an old couple are blessed with 12 little tiny babies. After protecting them through several trials the moon goddess shows up and thanks them for caring for her children and in turn gives them a human daughter. My children aren’t quite ready to understand the difference between fact and fiction very well which is why I feel this book was inappropriate.

Forest of Dreams by Rosemary Wells and beautiful paintings by Susan Jeffers is a very simple book of a boy walking in the woods and exploring. Petra and Jasper LOVED this book because of the illustrations. The continually asked to look at the page where there was ice on the tree. This is a library book that I wish was a permanent book in our home.

I’m currently reading a Trumbull’s book Hints on Child Training. This book has been called the “single best volume on the subject of child training ever written.” Trumbull, who was responsible for the growth of Sunday Schools in America just after the Civil War, wrote this book at age 60 after raising eight children. The book was written more than 100 years ago and shows that strategies to raising children are simply timeless. The chapters are short and easy to read. I can easily squeeze in chapter each day before I head off to bed. I’ve really enjoyed the last couple chapters on the Child’s Individuality and on Not Over-disciplining. I don’t want to be a parent whose child has zero fun because I’m always directing or correcting. My children have such absolutely wonderful personalities and I would hate to destroy their individuality. I thought these chapters were very helpful for me and I’m looking forward to finishing the book.

Thomas is currently reading probably about 20-30 books, which is common for him. So I’m not even going to touch on his list.

If you are interested in learning more about weekly readings, or seeing what other families are reading you can learn more by clicking on the box at the top of this post.

2 thoughts on “Family Readings

  1. Have you seen Olivia the cartoon. She’s very sassy in that. I don’t let the girls watch that much but they like her and her fun stories and such. Great books!

  2. Thank you for joining WMCIR! You have some great picks, and many of your books are not familiar to us. It’s a lofty goal to read 15 books a day, but I think that’s about how much we averaged before my daughter started to read on her own. Now it’s usually about 5. The book by Gomi reminded me of another one that I think belongs to him – Everybody Poops. It is hilarious and was very useful during potty training.

Leave a Reply

