30 Day Declutter Challenge

It’s time for a 30 day challenge. Are you ready? I have been meaning to embark on this challenge for the last month, and well, I kept getting sidelined. So, since every Wednesday is Anti-Procrastination Day over at Fly Lady, I decided I needed to start today.

This challenge is to declutter your home. Some of you may have this under control – I’m guessing most of us don’t. I certainly don’t. We have much more STUFF than anyone needs.

Last month I set myself a target to get rid of 500 items from my house! I’ve seen other ladies that have attempted even more and I’m sure I need to get rid of at least 1,000 things.  The first day I attempted to declutter the house went well; I disposed of about 100 items. However, I got tired of counting and tracking and it just took too much of my time. So no more counting for me, instead I’m shooting for only keeping those things I really need or that make me happy. And hoping for a clutter free home in the process.

I skipped over to FlyLady and found her advice for deciding what to keep and what to throw out or give away.

What to declutter? Things to ask yourself as you get rid of your clutter:

  • Do I love this item?
  • Have I used it in the past year?
  • Is it really garbage?
  • Do I have another one that is better?
  • Should I really keep two?
  • Does it have sentimental value that causes me to love it?
  • Or does it give me guilt and make me sad when I see the item?

Cleanse this room of everything that does not make you SMILE. 

My plan is to: 1) Be merciless, 2) tackle one room at a time, and 3) spend some time every day working towards this goal. Some days I may dedicate up to an hour for decluttering, others I might be able to spare only 10 minutes. But the goal is to keep moving foward over the next 30 days.

Stay tuned; I’ll keep you all posted on how it goes. If you decided to join in, please let me know. We can help each other stay accountable to our goals. My hope is that my home will look more like this when I’m done with the next 30 days.

4 thoughts on “30 Day Declutter Challenge

  1. I wish! I just can’t seem to stay focused long enough. Maybe I’ll be able to do this sometime soon. Monday we were supposed to organize the garage (so we could have more room for storage and try and get out of our storage unit before the end of summer) and that did not happen. Maybe Friday will be a bit better (Stephen’s home Mon. and Fri.)

  2. Oh this sounds like something I can possibly do!!!! I have 6 kids at home and if I have each of the kids get rid of 25 items and I do 100, that is 250 in one day. Oh this may work!!!! Narrowing it down to something like this makes it seem doable vs “where do I start”. Thank you thank you!!!!

  3. Kelly – If it seems unbearable, try a 27-Fling boogie – where you walk through your house with a garbage bag and as fast as you can you throw away 27 items. You can find other 15 minute (or less) daily decluttering exercises at Fly Lady.

    Vickie – So glad you are joining me for this one! I would love to be able to have the help that you will have.

    My first day was successful. The children would not occupy themselves, which is typical, but I still managed to throw out about 20 items and set aside another 5 for goodwill.

  4. the key for me..and i don’t do this well…is every day do a little bit. when you do it all at once it is overwhelming and you also don’t toss as much. i may try this. are you doing it as part of another blog challenge? just curious. i have my above blog but would probably post this on my ‘settings’ blog.. http://settingofsilver.blogspot.com/

Leave a Reply

