Raw Rice – A Side Dish

Raw rice can be a very forgiving dish to try. The main ingredient in this one is cauliflower. I know, you are all saying “but I don’t like cauliflower.” Well, once its shredded up, and some spices and other flavors are added you have a completely different dish.

There are numerous raw rice dishes online – mexican rice, fried rice, and many others. But personally this is one of my favorite raw side dishes to have with dinner. And I love that there are leftovers. The last time I made this, I had it for lunch the following day. I added some tuna, and it was an incredible lunch, honestly one of my favorites.

And if you aren’t ready to try it raw, then you need to check out the paleo moroccan chicken recipe. This is fabulous – the spices are great and you can’t tell you are eating cauliflower.

I adapted a couple recipes to use the spices and flavors I like and have on hand at the house. Here are the ingredients and directions for the one I made.

Ingredients:

  • 1 head cauliflower
  • 1/2 bag frozen peas – optional
  • 1 cup sunflower seeds
  • 4 sundried tomatoes – soakes in water for about 20  minutes
  • 3 T olive oil
  • 1 garlic clove
  • 1 T cumin
  • 1 T chili powder

Directions:

Shred the cauliflower in your food processor. Remove and set aside in a bowl. Next add the oil, sundried tomatoes, 2 T of the water from the sundried tomatoes, garlic and other spices to the food processor and blend. After it is well blended, add it to the cauliflower and stir well. Then add the sunflower seeds and peas and stir everything together.

Leave a Reply

