Raw Chocolate Pudding

I’ve been excited about adding this recipe for a Raw Chocolate Pudding to the blog. I was very keen on trying it after hearing good things from other blogs and people.

It’s a little unusual. One of the things about making raw dishes is you have to learn to think about things differently. There is no cooking involved so often it takes less time. But the ingredients you use change up a little bit and it takes some time to become accustomed to it. For instance, sweetener in our home for any recipe is usually one of the following ingredients: dates, bananas, agave nectar or honey. We always keep a stash of frozen bananas and Petra enjoys peeling them and breaking them into pieces so we can store in the freezer.

Now back to the recipe. This is very simple. To make Raw Chocolate Pudding, combine the following ingredients in a food processor or blender until mixed throughly.

  • 2 avocados
  • 2 bananas
  • 4 T cocoa
  • 1/8 cup agave or honey (or either to your liking and desired sweetness)

Usually it is a little warm from mixing it, so I would recommend putting it in the fridge to chill before consuming. It makes about 4 servings.

I can honestly say this does not taste like chocolate pudding. After looking at the list of ingredients I’m sure you aren’t surprised. However, it does have the texture and look of chocolate pudding. And it is tasty.  Our children have no idea what regular chocolate pudding tastes like so they were not the least bit disappointed, and in all honesty, they absolutely LOVED it. And we agreed to have it on a regular basis. Thomas and I gave it 2.5 stars out of 4. I’m sure the children would have given it 4 stars. It was a huge hit with them.

Oh, and one other thing. I don’t recommend giving this to any children close to bedtime. We did and will not be doing that again.

And so, I’m curious, how many of you think you would be willing to try this? Or is this too unusual for you to even consider trying?

2 thoughts on “Raw Chocolate Pudding

  1. Sherry,
    I’ve been following you for awhile on your other blog and I must say I’m impressed and inspired by your healthy transitions. We are trying it! So far so good. My hubby is the bomb and fully agreed to “go Paleo” with me while he isn’t so sure about the Raw… The kids are a little skeptical, but after some truth about the SAD way we’ve been eating, it awakened them to the idea of changing to a better lifestyle. Meanwhile, we are re-entering the journey to adopt again. We are interested in a sibling group here in FL so if all goes well, we will be parenting 8! The 3 we adopted last year have integrated into our family so well it is definitely a God thing and here we are with our hearts pricked again to set out and do it all over… wouldn’t change it for the world! Our 2 bio boys are 13 and 11 and have been so amazing; I am quite sure adoption already has a place in their future. Good luck on your continued endeavors! BTW, your kiddos are gorgeous!!!

    1. Kelly, Yes, I know exactly who you are! I love your story. It is so great to hear that things are going so well. It truly is a miracle how God works families out to perfection. And it is so exciting to hear your boys have been so amazing!! What a blessing! I have no doubt that as you expand your family again, it will be an even greater blessing … you’ll just be a little bit busier. =)

      Keep me filled on how things are going! I love updates.

Leave a Reply

