Raw Wednesday

I haven’t had the time I wanted to post on raw breakfast ideas this week. So instead I thought I would post on our raw week. (note: if you make something similar – but the greens on top and not the bottom like I did here in this photo)

Our new Blendtec blender has been a hit in our home this week. The green smoothies have been a great success around here and with my body – I know this because I immediately lost several pounds, and I also started to have detox symptoms again. Not bad, but the acne I could do without.

We stocked our home full with fresh fruits, veggies, nuts and seeds. We do this on nearly weekly basis but it always surprises me at how much food it actually is. This is what our shelves and countertops look like.

This is what our refrigerator looks like, stocked full of kale, spinach, soaked almonds, homemade lara bars,fruit, squash, broccoli, coconut milk … and also eggs and rabbit.

And here are some things I pulled off the shelves. We have numerous nuts and seeds we buy in bulk and store in canisters: raw almonds, flax seed, pumpkin seeds, walnuts, pecans, and agave nectar- are all commonly used.

Despite this I heard myself having to answer my husband that we didn’t have the ingredient he needed. He was trying to find a dessert recipe he wanted to make.

  • Do we have any hempseeds, he asked? No. I responded. Although now that I think about it, I think we do have some in the door of the fridge. (I think I recall planning on never buying them again b/c of concern they were high in Omega 6 fats)
  • Do we have any young coconuts, he asked a moment later. No, I haven’t been to that store this week I thought. There is only one store in town I will buy them at – an Asian store because otherwise they are just too pricey.

So with all this delicious food in our home, the blender has been busy. We made several smoothies.


The small black seeds in the photo below are chia seeds. I am falling in love with chia seeds. They make extraordinary pudding like desserts and even breakfast dishes. See the Choosing Raw website for several recipes.

This is what it looked like blended.

At the top of this post there is a picture of the blender full of spinach and fruits – this is that green smoothie all blended. Notice it is completely smooth – no chunks of anything. This recipes is based off of  Robyn’s Green Smoothie Template Recipe from Green Smoothie Girl.

Then Thomas made an orange sorbet and a cherry sorbet this week. YUM! These were a HUGE HIT with the children. And super quick. Within 2 minutes or less you have a fantastic dessert. And cleanup is a cinch. These can’t be any easier – just fruit, ice and agave nectar.

And don’t think I missing out on my carrot juice – that is still an all time favorite for me and we are having it every morning.

3 thoughts on “Raw Wednesday

  1. I am new to blogging and just started my own recently. I also have two children although a bit older ( daughter is freshman in college and son is soph. in highschool) it is refreshing to read blogs about other moms with similar interests as mine. ( I am from Idaho btw :>) I recently purchased a vitamix and have been enjoying the blessings of the garden via the blender! I am getting quite addicted to the green smoothies. Next up ~ canning!

    • Hi! And welcome! A bit older is a gross understatement – your children are in a different decade – but I’m sure it feels like time has flown by.

      I’ll have to check out your new blog and see what you are doing with the Vitamix.

    • Yes, time has flown by! I got married at 20 and started my family young. I have been married for 22 years so the math is fairly easy. :> I have been a stay at home mom for almost 19 years, but it seems like ten! I have followed up on a few other blogs reguarding raw food lifestyle, and although it seemed a bit daunting at first, the more I get into researching this way of eating, the more I think I can do this. I guess I was under the impression that it would be a life of salads and fruit but apparently not so!! I am going to try a few of your recipes as well as some others and get my feet wet!

Leave a Reply

